Lessons I’ve Learned in My ADD Management/Organization Journey (So Far)

 

I’ve been compiling this list for a couple of weeks now, and thought my readers might find it helpful.  (Actually, its original title was “Tips as You Embark On Your Organization Journey,” but I decided that telling from my own experience was more helpful than giving advice.)

  1. Be Gentle with Myself.  My best fluctuates day to day, moment to moment.  Progress is my goal, not perfection.
  2. It Isn’t Helpful to Compare Myself to Others or Hold Myself to Others’ Standards (perceived or actual).  I’m not that guy, I’m me. I can learn from others, but ultimately, my experience and circumstances are mine alone, and if I try to follow someone else’s example to the letter without adapting it to those, I just end up frustrated.
  3. Expect the People Around Me to Keep Doing What They Do.  Just because I’m focusing on getting a handle on my mental, physical, and digital clutter doesn’t mean everyone else will – or that they need to. (Examples: partner, family, roomies, boss, coworkers, friends…)
  4. Let Go of the Idea that Everything Has to Be Done NOW.  Now may be the only moment I have, but it violates the laws of physics to think that I can fit every goal, task, interest or chore into it.  What has to be done now?  Breathing in and out (if I stop doing that, “now” gets rather short).  After that?  The next right thing that moves me forward on my goals.  As long as I have a system in place for keeping track of “everything,” the important stuff will get done, and the not-so-important stuff, well… won’t.  And that’s okay.
  5. Let Go of the Idea of an End Point.  Again, it’s all about progress.  A wise person once told me, “All living things are either growing or dying; if I stop growing, I start dying.”  I’m not going to reach a point where my house is immaculate 100% of the time, my exercise routine is perfect, my projects are all done, and I generally have “everything” in order.  There will always be a dish to wash, an interruption to my routine, a new project to replace a finished one, and new information to sort through.  I choose to view all of these as opportunities for growth rather than obstacles to an impossible point of “perfection.”
Leave a Reply

